Enter your keyword



  1. The First Inner Wheel Club of the world – The Manchester Club (England) – was born on the 10th January 1924. This day is observed as the Inner Wheel Day.
  2. The inaugural meeting was held in Manchester on 15th Nov.1923, attended by 27 members.
  3. The First Inner Wheel District No. 5 (England) was born in 1928.
  4. The First Overseas Club was born in Ballar at, Australia in 1931.
  5. The First Overseas Inner Wheel District – The Netherlands District, was formed in 1948. Later the same was numbered as District 26.
  6. On 6th May 1934 the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in Great Britain and Ireland came into existence.
  7. In 1967, International Inner Wheel was formed, The First Conference was held at Brighton and Mrs. L. Weightman became the First President of International Inner Wheel.
  8. The First IW Convention was held at The Hauge, Netherlands.
  9. In 1949 it was decided to appoint a full time salaried Secretary meet the needs of the business side of the Association of GB & Mrs. Elizabeth Eaton was the First Secretary.
  10. In 1936 it was decided to mark the occasion of a Club’s formation by granting a Certificate of Membership which is now called “Charter”.
  11. The First Club in India, Inner Wheel Club of Anmedabad was formed in 1956.
  12. Minnie Camma was the Charter President of Inner Wheel Club of Ahmedabad and the First Club President of India.
  13. The First Inner Wheel District in India was formed in 1965.The District at First was numbered 75 and later as District 305.
  14. Rana was appointed the First IW Representative 1968.
  15. The Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India and Sri Lanka was born in 1976. Mrs. Raksha Mehta was the First President of the Association.
  16. From India there have been six ladies to honour the highest office of International Inner Wheel President
  • 1986-87                    Mrs. MinnaKapur
  • 1993-94                    Mrs. Anita Agarwal
  • 2007-08                    Mrs. Kamla Ramakrishnan
  • 2010-11                    Mrs. Pallavi Shah
  • 2014-15                    Mrs. Abha Gupta
  • 2017-18                    Dr. Mrs. Kapila Gupta
  • 2020-21                    Dr. Mrs. Bina Vyas
  1. The First Conference of the Association was held in the year 1977 in Mumbai
  2. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are no more in the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India.
  3. Inner Wheel Club of Port Blair is the First Club in the Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands added to the Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India in 1993-1994 by District 329.
  4. A book of practical guidelines for Association, District and Clubs were prepared and printed on behalf of Association of Inner Wheel Clubs in India by Past Association President Dr. Saroj Lalwani in the year 1979-1980 (First Edition), and the revised guidelines in the year 2006-2007 (Second Edition) and (Third Edition) in 2015-2076.
  5. PAP Dr. Kapila Gupta was elected as IIW Treasurer. She is the first Indian to be elected as IW Treasurer from period of 2013-2016.
  6. Kapila Gupta after finishing her term as IIVW Treasurer got elected as IIW Vice-President. She is first from India to be elected for IIW Executive Committee in prime post in 2nd consecutive term in continuity. She was IIW President for the year 2017-18.
  7. PAP Azhaghu Annamalai second Indian lady to be elected as International IW Treasurer and hold the post for 3 Consecutive years.
  8. PI IWP Kamala Ramkrishnan was 1st to be elected as IIW Editor in 2003-04.
  9. PAP Gomathi Vishwanathan was IIW Editor for the year 2010-11
  10. Association has now got its own office premises. The address is 963, Avinashi Road, Kalaikathir Buildings, Pappenaickenpalayam, Coimbatore 641037.
  11. PAP Mrs. Bina Vyas was elected as IIW President for the year 2020-21.
  12. The 18th IIW Convention was hosted by India for the first time and also was chaired by a IIW President Dr. Mrs. Bina Vyas from India, at Jaipur on virtual Platform from 3rd to 6th March 2021.
  13. PAP Mrs. Sarita Lunani, the third Indian lady to be elected as International Inner Wheel Treasurer for the year 2021-22. & elected for the next consecutive year 2022-23
  14. PAP Mrs. Prabha Raghunandan, the third indian lady to be elected as IIW Editor for the year 2022-23.